Philip A. Gunn
Add this to my Outlook Contacts


In 2012, Philip Gunn was elected Mississippi’s 61st Speaker of the House of Representatives. He currently chairs the Joint Legislative Budget Committee (JLBC) and is a member of the House Rules and Management Committees. Philip leads the House Republican Caucus and served as a member of the Executive Committee of the Mississippi Republican Party.

Philip focuses his legal practice in the areas of insurance defense and civil litigation, with cases ranging from premises liability and wrongful death to automobile accidents. His clients include home builders, trucking lines, construction firms and a variety of manufacturers.

In addition to his legal and public service careers, Philip is actively involved in his church and in other community organizations.

Current Employment Position:


             Of Counsel          


             Areas of Practice:


Insurance Defense

Civil Litigation


Litigation Percentage:

95% of Practice Devoted to Litigation

Bar Admissions:


Mississippi, 1990

U.S. Court of Appeals 5th Circuit, 1990

U.S. District Court Northern District of Mississippi, 1990

U.S. District Court Southern District of Mississippi, 1990




University of Mississippi School of Law

 Oxford, Mississippi, 1989, J.D.
              Honors: Law School Student

              Body President
              Honors: Dean's Distinguished

              Service Award

 Baylor University

 Waco, TX, 1985, B.B.A.

Classes/Seminars Taught:


"Liability and Asset Protection Planning for Mississippi

 Pharmacists", Wells Marble & Hurst, PLLC  

"Legislative Update to The Mississippi Bar” every spring

Honors and Awards: 

2004, Representative of the Year, Mississippi

Homebuilders Association

2010, "One of Mississippi’s Top 50 Leading Attorneys,”

Mississippi Business Journal’s Leadership in Law Class of 2010

2010- Americans United for Life recognized Philip for

 his efforts in passing a bill supporting pro-life

2012, Kirk Fordice Freedom Award, 19th Annual Central

 Mississippi Friends of the National Rifle Association (NRA)

2012, State Legislative Achievement Award, U.S. Chamber

Institute for Legal Reform, resulting from the Attorney

General "Sunshine” Act being passed during the 2012 Legislative Session

2012-2013, Meritorious Achievement Awards:

Pro Texana Medal of Service, Baylor University

2013, Outstanding Citizen Award,

Clinton Chamber of Commerce

2014, elected Chairman, Southern Baptist

Theological Seminary Board of Trustees

2014, elected Vice Chairman, Southern

Legislative Conference (SLC)

2014, Champion of Small Business Award,

National Coalition for Capital

2014, elected Board of Directors member,

State Legislative Leaders Foundation

2014, Libby Aydelott Award for Outstanding Achievement

in Public Policy, Mississippi Heritage Trust, resulting from

championship of the state historic tax credit  

2016, Top 50 Political People, Legislator of the Year

2016, Outstanding Achievement in State Tax Reform, the Tax Foundation

2016, Outstanding House Legislator, the Mississippi Realtors

2017, President of the Southern Legislative Committee (SLC)                  

Professional Associations and Memberships:

The Mississippi Bar   


Community Involvement:


Mississippi's 61st Speaker of the House of Representatives- 2012 to present

Member Mississippi House of Representatives since 2004

Morrison Heights Baptist Church

            Member and Former Elder, Deacon, and

            Sunday School Teacher

Clinton Chamber of Commerce

Former member and President of the Clinton MS School Board

Former Trustee of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, Kentucky

Serves on the board of:

Republican Legislative Campaign Committee (RLCC)

American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC)

State Legislative Leaders Foundation (SLLF)

Republican Political Action Committee (GOPAC)





© Copyright 2017, Wells Marble & Hurst, PLLC. All rights reserved.

Site designed by Bizzuka Law Firm Web Design